Wednesday – Quoteday #3

And it’s wednesday again! I’m still really busy with school, but there’s a little light at the end of the tunnel haha. My exam is done, my first academic blog and paper are done too, so that just leaves one other blog and paper and my thesis! Slowly, but surely things are wrapping up (thank goodness).

I don’t know about you girls and guys, but I love to get lost in books. Love how the words of an author, a person you don’t  know, can transport you across continents, dimensions and even take you to completely imaginary places and still make you feel at home. Like you somehow belong with the characters between the pages. I think that is also the reason why I love paranormal, fantasy, fairytale and science fiction stories, because they bring a little magic and wonder to a world that seems particularly focussed on technology and progress. Every once in a while (or in my case every evening) you just want to slow down and forget about the world. Go someplace new, with new people. And amazingly enough books alow you to do so <3.

The quote I picked out today describes the way I feel about books perfectly. The quote is by Jean Rhys:

“Reading makes immigrants of us all. It takes us away from home, but more important, it finds homes for us everywhere.”

Absolutely beautiful, isn’t it? And it’s so true.

Leave a Reply

